Facebook icon Twitter icon YouTube icon

Electric vehicles can soon charge up in Essex

Posted on Tuesday March 14, 2017

The Town of Essex is excited to announce that two electric vehicle charging stations will be ready for use at the Essex Centre Sports Complex (60 Fairview Avenue West) after the official unveiling on March 24.

“We are very excited to join the expanding network of public charging stations across Ontario,” says Doug Sweet, Director of Community Services. “Offering fast-charging electric vehicle stations in this strategic location supports Council’s objective of promoting environmentally sustainable practices within our community and is intended to encourage and support residents in adopting this alternative to traditional vehicles.”

Located at the “hub” or centre of Essex County, the Essex charging stations play an important role in expanding the provincial network of charging stations and reducing “range anxiety,” a common concern of consumers regarding the distance electric vehicles can travel compared to traditional vehicles.

“This is great news for electric vehicle owners in the Town of Essex,” says Steven Del Duca, Ontario’s Minister of Transportation. “By building a larger network of public chargers across Ontario, we are ensuring that electric vehicle owners are able to plan longer trips with confidence.”

The charging stations have been made possible due to a grant awarded through the Electric Vehicle Chargers Ontario (EVCO) Program. Essex is among 24 public and private sector partners selected in 2016 to help create an expanded network of fast-charging electric vehicle stations across Ontario in 2017.

The Level 3 charging stations (also known as Direct Current Fast Chargers or DCFC) can charge an electric vehicle to 80 percent in about 30 minutes. This is significantly quicker than the four-to-six hours required to fully charge an electric vehicle using a Level 2 charging station.

The public is invited to attend the official unveiling to be held at the Essex Centre Sports Complex on Friday, March 24 at 11:00 a.m.