Facebook icon Twitter icon YouTube icon

Mayor and Council

Essex Town Council is the main governing and legislative body for the Town of Essex. It consists of the Mayor and six Councillors, one of whom is selected by Council to serve as Deputy Mayor. Councillors are elected to one of four wards (two each in Wards 1 and 3, one each in Wards 2 and 4) and serve a four-year term of office.

Who are Your Elected Representatives?

Use the Ward Map to find out which ward you live in. Members of the current Essex Town Council are as follows:

Who are the Youth Council Members?

Since 2013, Essex Town Council has included two Youth Council Members. One member is appointed from Wards 1 and 2 and another for Wards 3 and 4. Current Youth Council Members are:

  • Wards 1 and 2 - Ehva Hoffmann
  • Wards 3 and 4 - Vacant

Find out more on our Youth Council Members page.

Email Council

You will find contact information for each Council member in the Contact box on each individual's page. To contact Council as a whole, click here to send a message.

Meeting Calendar

View the Council Calendar to find out when Council meets next.

Attend a Meeting

Attend Town Council as an observer or submit a request to appear as a delegation.

Council Agendas, Minutes and Reports

Open our Council Calendar to view current meeting agendas, minutes and staff reports.

Boards and Committees

View our Boards and Committees page to find out more about the statutory and advisory boards and committees that make recommendations to Council.

Council Videotapings

Council meetings are videotaped by CFTV34 and air on Digital TV Channel 34.1, Cogeco Cable Channel 100, Bell Satellite TV Channel 586 and Gosfield North IPTV 34.1.

Watch Council meetings at your leisure online. Videos are generally posted online by the Thursday following the Council meeting and can be found on the Town's YouTube page.